From Scratch, With Love

Attempts at Worldliness

with one comment

I’ve probably mentioned that until a couple of years ago I was an incredibly picky eater.  It’s probably true that John deserves most of the credit for my trying new things.  On our first date he made me try fried calamari and in an effort to impress him I ate it even though I’ve had an incredible aversion to seafood as long as I can remember (right Camilo??).  It was delicious.  5 years later I took my brother (the aforementioned Camilo) out for his birthday and surprised him by taking him to a sushi place and actually eating the sushi.  Thanks John.

Anyway, this has nothing to do with seafood.  Among the food categories I had never tried is Indian food, despite the fact that my Papa is accomplished in the making of curries and such – I just stuck with plain rice, thankyouverymuch.  John’s dad, Ron, is a huge fan of Indian culture and food and introduced me to the cuisine and I’m currently obsessed.  Also, a new Indian place just opened in my town.  We went the week it opened and I hope to go again and perhaps write up a review here.

Last weekend I made a simple vegetable curry for the first time.  It was delicious.  I think I’m going to play with it a little before posting a recipe but I would like to know… what are your favorite Indian dishes?  Also, what’s a good source for Indian recipes?

Update: I made a Chana Masala dish based on (but expaded) this recipe.  Delish.

Written by poperatzii

October 22, 2011 at 10:24 am

Posted in Experimentation

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. YOU’VE NEVER HAD INDIAN FOOD???????????????????
    WHAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAT!

    camilo

    October 22, 2011 at 12:06 pm


Leave a Reply

