From Scratch, With Love

So Sorry

with 2 comments

I’ve been AWOL.  I apologize.  You know what though?  It’s so so so so so hard to write a food blog when it’s almost always dark out.  You know how much better pictures of food are in natural lighting?  It makes it difficult to lug out the camera when I make something fantastic, because I know the picture just won’t do it justice.

Food updates: I’ve been making a lot of soups and stir fries.  I really like bean-based soup, like lentil soup, black bean soup, and split pea soup.  They’re filling an comforting.  I also made a fantastic Latin-style chicken soup that I looked forward to eating for lunch all week.  Stir fries have become a big part of my life – I love seeing how many vegetables I can put in a single dish.  Lately my stir fry sauce has consisted in a soy sauce and peanut butter mixture, with some hot pepper sauce and garlic, brought to a quick boil.  It’s a really great combination.

I also read Mark Bittman’s Food Matters and The Food Matters Cookbook, which sort of puts into words the way I cook in general (and gives it reason): lots of vegetables and raw ingredients, not a lot of meat and pre-packaged goods.  He has a lot of great recipes… I recommend it.

Other updates: assuming my current back injury (going on 3 weeks) heals soon, I’m running the New York Half Marathon on March 20.  Fun!

Finally, a simple recipe for Lentil Soup.  Note the difference in winter photography.  Sorry!  This soup is filling and healthy, packed with fiber and vitamins.  It’s also delicious.

Lentil Soup (From Joy of Cooking)

Chop up an onion.  Slice two stalks of celery and two carrots in fairly uniform pieces.  In a large soup pot, heat one or two tablespoons of olive oil over low heat. Add the onion, celery, and carrots, and cook, stirring occasionally, until soft, about 5 to 10 minutes.  Meanwhile, dice tomatoes from a 14 oz can of whole tomatoes, and mince 3 cloves or garlic.  When the vegetables are soft, raise the heat to medium and add the tomatoes and garlic to the pot, with about a teaspoon of dried thyme.  After cooking for a minute or two, add 1 pound of dry lentils, rinsed.  Stir the ingredients together, then add 8 cups of water.  Bring to a boil and reduce the heat back to low.  Simmer gently for 30 to 45 minutes, or until the lentils are tender.  Add 1 1/2 teaspoons of balsamic vinegar and salt and pepper, to taste.  You can also add some greens at this point.  I like it with spinach or kale.  Cook for a couple more minutes, until the greens have wilted slightly.  Serve hot.  Take comfort.

Written by poperatzii

January 30, 2011 at 2:06 pm

Posted in Soup

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Andrea! Hope your back heals soon… I enjoy your writing style, I feel like we’re sitting somewhere just talking about food and enjoying the day.

    YucasL.A.

    February 12, 2011 at 5:34 pm

  2. Wow, that’s the nicest thing anyone’s ever said to me! Thanks! I hope my back gets better soon too (5 weeks now).

    poperatzii

    February 12, 2011 at 5:58 pm


Leave a Reply

