From Scratch, With Love

How do you like dem Apple Muffins?

with 2 comments

I’ve been a little lazy about updating.  Here’s my excuse: the sun has been going down so early it’s been really hard to take good pictures of my delicious dinners.  I’ll try harder, I promise.

This morning I ran a lot.  Then I biked home and had a really delicious omelet with onions and spinach (I recommend it) and a lot of other food.  Then I wanted to feel productive so I made a batch of granola bars (I’m trying to make them taste like honey roasted peanuts, which are my current snack food obsession) and some apple bran muffins with the apples I picked last weekend.  I’ve made them before.  The recipe is loosely based on the Joy of Cooking base recipe that I’ve been using for years, but honestly I kind of just did it by feel.  I’m happy to share it.  I like to make these muffins and let them cool completely, then freeze them.  I put them in my lunch bag every morning, then microwave them for 20 seconds when it’s time for a mid morning snack.  Voila – warm and fresh-tasting muffin.

Here are some tricks I used for this muffin.  As always for muffins, I stirred the batter until just moistened.  Despite the muffins you get in stores, they are not just bald cupcakes – the crumb is not as fine and the batter should not be smooth.  Mix muffins by hand, not using a mixer.  Also, as usual, I separated the egg whites from the yolks and beat the egg whites until soft peaks formed.  This helps make the muffins moist and fluffy.  I also used whole wheat pastry flour, instead of regular whole wheat flour so that they wouldn’t be too dense.  Lastly, since the apples provide both sweetness and moisture, I only used 1/2 cup of brown sugar and 2 tablespoons of oil.  Also, I used buttermilk instead of regular milk (again, for moistness).

By the way, apple pie was my inspiration for this muffin.  Also, I LOVE apple season.

Apple Bran Muffins (Makes 12 muffins)

Preheat oven to 400.  Line a 12-cup muffin tin with paper liners, or grease each cup.

In a small bowl, peel and grate 3 medium apples. Stir in 1/2 cup buttermilk, 1/2 cup brown sugar, 2 egg yolks (put the whites in a medium bowl), 2 tablespoons canola or vegetable oil, and 1 teaspoon vanilla extract.  Set aside.

Roughly chop about 1 oz of dried fruit (I used apricots).  Toast 1 oz nuts (I used walnuts).

In a large bowl, sift 2 cups whole wheat pastry flour, 2 tablespoons wheat bran (optional), 2 tablespoons wheat germ (optional), 1 tablespoon baking powder, 1/2 teaspoon baking soda, 1/2 teaspoon salt, and 1 teaspoon  cinnamon.

Beat the reserved egg whites until soft peaks form.

Add the apple mixture to the flour mixture and stir until just blended.  Gently fold in the egg whites.  Gently fold in the dried fruit and nuts.  Spoon into prepared muffin tin, filling each cup all the way, and bake for 18-20 minutes, or until the tops of the muffins start to brown.

Storage: if you wish to keep these muffins as snacks, let cool completely, then freeze in a ziplock bag.  Defrost for 5 minutes in a 400 degree oven or 20 seconds in the microwave, or let it defrost at room temperature for a couple hours.

This is my cat being cute:

Written by poperatzii

October 16, 2010 at 2:12 pm

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. How on earth, Andrea, do you have the energy to do half the things you do? I really do wish I had even an ounce of it and your unwavering commitment to eat good and well!

    Anyway these apple muffins wouldn’t last a day in my house- especially if we had a pint of vanilla ice cream in the freezer 😆

    thecoffeesnob

    October 19, 2010 at 8:46 am

  2. I love that tip about the egg whites! Gotta try that the next time 🙂 And these muffins definitely sound like a gem, especially with the buttermilk and ww pastry flour & wheat germ. Would love to have shredded carrot tossed in there too! 😛

    ovenhaven

    October 19, 2010 at 11:27 pm


Leave a Reply

