From Scratch, With Love

I’m doing some experimenting

with 2 comments

A quick update: I’m on the search for a perfect pumpkin cookie.  I’m making the recipe myself.  I am also trying to limit the fat and sugar, since I feel pumpkin lends itself to such a recipe, though in my internet searches I haven’t found any such recipe, which is why I’m writing it myself.  So far I’ve tried a chocolate chip cookie base, which failed miserably:

These cookies turned out tasting great, but having a oddly dense texture which was unappealing.  They kind of look like raw cookie dough, don’t they?

Next, I tried making them using a gingersnap-type recipe.

These were a great improvement in texture, but the flavor left a little to be desired.  I’m trying to develop a recipe that really brings out the pumpkin flavor, and these tasted too much of spice.  I know I’m headed in the right direction though because I brought all the cookies to running club this morning and people raved about them.

The fun thing about developing a recipe is that I get to play chemist.  With the latest batch of cookies I played with using melted vs softened butter, and using granulated sugar vs a brown sugar/granulated sugar mix.  I had a lot of fun, but in the end there wasn’t a big difference between the cookies, so I think I have to take some bigger risks.  Next I am going to go easier on the spices and try adding some rum to the mix instead of using vanilla.  Don’t worry, once the recipe is perfect, I will post it.  Hopefully right in time for the height of pumpkin season.

Written by poperatzii

September 11, 2010 at 12:10 pm

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Your experiments are looking delicious, Andrea but I’ve got my fingers crossed you’ll get it right soon!

    thecoffeesnob

    September 12, 2010 at 10:32 am

  2. Andrea!
    I found your blog through my sister’s blog (a sweet spoonful) and wanted to tell you that we have a GREAT family recipe for pumpkin cookies! They are low fat too! I can send you the recipe via email if you’d like!
    You can email me @ (rachybaby23@gmail.com).
    GREAT BLOG! I am glad I found ya!

    Rachael Gordon

    September 16, 2010 at 9:56 am


Leave a Reply

