From Scratch, With Love

Chili My Way

with 2 comments

Did you grow up on chili?  Me too.  Was your chili made with kidney beans and ground beef and cumin?  Oh.  It was?  Oh.  My family’s weird.

My dad makes chili a certain way.  It involved cubes or pork and pinto beans and lots of onions and some canned tomatoes.  There are peppers and not too many spices.  And there’s garlic.

I was sort of craving that.  But also a little lazy and cooking for just me and I had no beans soaking and I was at the grocery store without his recipe exactly with me.  Also, I didn’t feel like having onion breath for hours and hours and hours.  So I made his chili my way, in a small batch, using (gasp) canned beans.  Forgive me, Papa.  I served it with oven crisped tortilla chips and red wine.  I sprinkled with with some mexican cheese.  I ate the leftovers a couple days later served over rice.  Delish.

Andrea’s Weird Chili Concoction (4 servings)

Mince two cloves of garlic and thinly slice 4 green onions.  Mince a jalapeño.  Trim the fat from a pork chop (or some other lean cut of pork that’s cheap) and cut it into bite-sized cubes.

In a large saucepan, heat a tablespoon of olive oil over high heat.  Add the jalapeno and stir for about 30 seconds, until fragrant.  Add the garlic and green onions and stir for another 30 seconds.  Add the pork and stir until just barely cooked through.  Add a 14-oz can of diced tomatoes to the pan and bring to a simmer.  Reduce heat to medium-low.  Add about a teaspoon each of thyme and sage and a grind of black pepper.  Add a can of black beans and a can of pinto beans, both rinsed and drained.  Bring everything to a simmer and cover.  Cook gently for at least 30 minutes, so the flavors get absorbed.  After about 10 minutes of simmering, start salting and tasting until the flavors are to your liking.  Don’t burn your mouth!

Serve hot with tortilla chips, corn tortillas, or rice.  Try adding other ingredients to the chili and let me know what works!  It’s a cheap quick dish that lends itself to many variations and changes, so go ahead! Go wild.  Just, please, no cumin, kidney beans, or ground beef. That’s not what this chili is about.

Written by poperatzii

September 9, 2010 at 7:38 pm

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Chili!! I miss it! I think I’ll make some next week.

    Camilo

    September 19, 2010 at 10:44 am

  2. Obtain and pick some good points from you and it helps me to solve a problem, thanks.

    – Rob

    girokonto vergleich

    December 6, 2010 at 1:19 pm


Leave a Reply

