From Scratch, With Love

The Search for a Pre-Run Snack

with 2 comments

If you run, bike, swim, or do any exercise that tends to shake up your stomach, you may know that a good pre-run snack is hard to come by.  If you’re like me, you need something that will give you the energy you need without making you feel like puking the whole time you’re running.  I’ve searched and searched for such a snack.  I’ve read that fruits and vegetables, since they’re easy to digest, are a good snack, but they don’t tend to keep me full.  I’ve also learned that nuts, raisins and bread just don’t work for me.  Recently, I found a granola bar that, for the most part, gets the job done.  It’s a homemade one.  It’s also delicious and low calorie and satisfies the peanut butter craving that has been plaguing me lately.  I’d like to thank Nick Malgieri’s Perfect Light Desserts, once again.

I didn’t change much in the recipe.  I’ve made it three times and the latest time I substituted oatmeal for the nuts called for in the recipe (bringing the total amount of oatmeal from 3/4 cup to 1.5 cups) because, as you know, I’m obsessed with oatmeal.  I also, if I have time, tend to toast the oats and nuts before using them by putting them in a 350 degree oven for about 10 minutes, stirring occasionally, until fragrant but not burned.  Also, if you’re not going to eat them in a few days, I recommend wrapping them individually in plastic wrap or something similar (wasteful, I know), and freezing them, taking them out of the freezer in batches of three of four as you need them.  I’ve also eaten them frozen – yum.

Peanut Butter Granola Bars (From Nick Malgieri’s Perfect Light Desserts)

Preheat oven to 325 degrees. Line a 9″ x 13″ pan with parchment paper and grease lightly using vegetable oil or cooking spray.

In a medium bowl, combine 3/4 cup rolled oats, 3/4 cup chopped walnuts or sliced almonds (or bring the total amount of oats to 1.5 cups), and 3/4 cups raisins, dried cranberries, or chopped dried apricots.

In a large heat-proof bowl, stir together 2 large egg whites (or 1/3 cup liquid egg whites from a carton), 1/3 cup vegetable or canola oil, 3/4 cup brown sugar, 3/4 cup peanut butter, 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon, and 1/2 teaspoon salt.  Heat, stirring, over lightly simmering water (without letting the water touch the bottom of the bowl) until the brown sugar has melted and the mixture if warm.  Stir in the oatmeal mixture and spread the batter into the prepared plan.

Bake for 30 minutes, until firm when pressed with a fingertip.  Let cool in the pan on a wire rack, then invert to a cutting board and peel off the paper.  Cut with a knife into two-inch squares.

They're also great warm

Keep the bars in an airtight container, separated with wax paper, or wrap individually in plastic wrap, aluminum foil, or wax paper.  Make sure they’re completely cooled before wrapping, or you’ll risk mold.  Store at room temperature for 3 days, or in the freezer pretty much indefinitely.  You can defrost them at room temperature and eat at your leisure.

Written by poperatzii

September 6, 2010 at 8:27 pm

Posted in Cookies, Oatmeal

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I know exactly what you mean about having to find a good pre-workout snack! I usually just have a banana and maybe a slice of toast two hours before my run.

    Anyway these granola bars look soo good! I’ve made granola bars once and completely loved them. Now I’ve absolutely got to try your version- they sound incredible with peanut butter!

    thecoffeesnob

    September 7, 2010 at 12:37 pm

  2. Hmm interesting! I am going to have to try these out for my husband!

    Jessica

    September 7, 2010 at 7:58 pm


Leave a Reply

