From Scratch, With Love

To $1/ lb whole chickens

with 2 comments

I decided I wanted to roast a chicken last weekend.  I was at the store.  I wanted a small, tender chicken.  I looked at my options.  There was $1/lb chicken. And there was $3/lb chicken (kosher Bell & Evans).  I thought… is it worth it?  I mean, I can get a $4 chicken for my first roasted chicken ever, or I could get a $12 chicken.  What if I get the $12 chicken and it’s delicious?  Am I forever doomed to buying $12 chickens?

I put a lot of effort into carving this chicken.

I bought the cheap chicken.

It was delicious.  Like, amazing.  It was wonderfully moist, with a nicely crispy skin and great flavor.  And there’s not much to it.  Really.  It takes about an hour in the oven and other than that you basically just pat it dry and rub some stuff on it.  If you want to.  I ate one of the breasts, cut up, as part of lunch the next day and it was also delicious.  I bet it’d be great in a sandwich or a salad.  Next time, I kind of want to make two chickens just for the leftovers.

Andrea’s First Roast Chicken

Buy a chicken.  A cheap one.  It should be under 4 lbs.

Preheat the oven to 400.  Line a broiler pan with foil.

Take the gizzards, etc, out of the chicken’s cavity.  I just threw mine away, but it you have a use for them, go for it.  cut the chicken along the spine so that it’s open (more surface area).  With paper towels, dry the chicken inside and out.  Rub the skin with, in order, cayenne (red) pepper, sage, and minced garlic.  Place breast-side up on the broiler pan and put in the preheated oven.

After 20 minutes, flip the bird around so the other side can brown.  You might dirty your potholders a little.  It’s okay.  They’re (probably) machine-washable.

After another 20 minutes, flip it again.

After another 20 minutes, take it out of the oven and let it stand for about 15 minutes so it can absorb its own juices.  Salt lightly.

(Turn off the oven.)

OMG that was so easy!

Carving the chicken:

First, carefully cut off the drumsticks by gingerly slicing it right through the joint.  Next, remove the thigh by cutting it where it meets the breast, and cutting right at the joint.  Remove the wings in the same fashion.  Separate the breast from the bone, careful to leave the skin on.  Honestly, I’ve only been able to do it nicely once (see above) but I’m confident that with practice I can get it right.  I think the Internet is an especially good source for tips on this matter.  Once I’m an expert I will definitely have a how-to post.

Written by poperatzii

September 2, 2010 at 8:31 pm

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Glad your $4 chicken tasted like a $12 chicken!!!

    peabody

    September 3, 2010 at 6:51 pm

    • Believe me, so am I. My future self just saved hundreds of dollars!

      poperatzii

      September 4, 2010 at 12:22 pm


Leave a Reply

