From Scratch, With Love

Hot Sauce

with 2 comments

I made pad thai for the first time on Sunday.  Coincidentally, I also ate pad thai for the first time on Sunday.  This has been happening to me a lot lately.  Perhaps I’m more likely to make something that I’ve never eaten before than order it for take out or at a restaurant because it’s cheaper.  If I don’t like it, well, at least I got to enjoy the experience of making it.  This may seem backward to you.  Anyway, it was good.  This post is not about how to make pad thai.  If you want to make it, I used the Joy of Cooking recipe, though I’m open to suggestion for other recipes or methods.  This post is about the hot sauce I made so as not to waste the cilantro I bought for the pad thai.  You’ll like it.  Try it.

This hot sauce was a staple in my house growing up.  My dad would make it for tacos, and then we would have it for months (it doesn’t go bad in the fridge quickly due to the amount of vinegar it contains).  We would have it on eggs, potato pancakes, beans, more tacos… the possibilities are probably endless.  It’s a jalapeño- tomatillo sauce and my dad insists we call it “hot sauce,” and not “salsa,” because “salsa” is a term that has been bastardized in his opinion by the plethora of tomato-based hot sauces flooding the market.  The sauce is not too hot, and becomes more mild as it ages.  You can add a habanero pepper if you want it really hot.  The heat is fresh-tasting, as opposed to the smoky heat you get with buffalo wings, so it’s really good on eggs and with tacos, burritos, etc.  One problem I discovered after having it on an omelet yesterday morning is that even after brushing my teeth, I had hot-sauce breath for hours.  But I guess it’s a small price to pay.

Papa’s Famous Hot Sauce (Makes about 7 cups)

In a blender:

12 tomatillos, rinsed (take the papery skins off first!)
8 jalapeños, rinsed and deseeded
1/2 cup cilantro
6 cloves of garlic
1 bunch green onions, rinsed (roots cut off)
1/2 cup white vinegar
4 teaspoons salt
grind of black pepper
1 habanero pepper (optional)

Blend.  Decant.  Easy!

Written by poperatzii

July 14, 2010 at 6:40 pm

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Our secret has been unleashed to the world! What have you done!!!!!!!!!!

    Camilo

    July 15, 2010 at 10:40 pm


Leave a Reply

