From Scratch, With Love

A Use for Egg Whites

leave a comment »

If you make ice cream, you know my plight.  I don’t like to waste egg whites.  So last week, I decided I wanted to make Angel Food Cupcakes, because I could make 2 cupcakes with 6 egg whites, which corresponds to the egg yolks used in most ice cream recipes.  However, when I asked John “If you were to have any ice cream flavor today, what would it be?” and he said “Cake Batter!” I noticed that the most promising cake batter ice cream recipe I found uses only three egg yolks, I I tried to find a solution.  This solution was the low cholesterol version of a chiffon cake, which calls for 1/2 cup of egg whites (for half a recipe of chiffon).  Then I noticed another variation my recipe offers, which is chocolate chiffon.  So I decided to go for it.  Cake batter ice cream totally goes with chocolate chiffon cupcakes.  No need to frost.

These cupcakes are deeply chocolate-y, but not too heavy.  Unfrosted, they go very well with a scoop of ice cream.  I’ve also seen recommendations of frosting them with peanut butter, or boiled ice cream.  I decided not to frost them mostly because making boiled ice cream would have used more egg whites than I had and I didn’t have a second ice cream maker to make more ice cream!  You can also double the recipe and make a cake in a tube pan (ungreased, with parchment paper).  Increase baking time to 60 to 65 minutes.  You can also make the non-cholesterol-free version of this cake by adding 3 egg yolks to the oil and water mixture.

Funny story about me making this batter.  I started measuring the dry ingredients, completely forgetting that I was halving the recipe.  So I ended up with twice the dry ingredients than I need.  I ended up measuring how much dry ingredients I had, then diving it in half and putting half in a ziplock bag labeled “Chocolate chiffon cupcake dry mix.”  I hope that works out for me.

On another note, I also made low fat oatmeal raisin cookies this weekend and they were amazing.  Perfectly chewy and cookie-like.  I’m going to test how they work for ice cream sandwiches.

Chocolate Chiffon Cupcakes (Adapted from The Perfect Cake by Susan G. Purdy)

Preheat oven to 325.  Line a 12-cup muffin tin with paper liners.

In a medium bowl, sift together

3/4 cups plus 2 tablespoons sifted cake flour
1/4 cup sifted dutch processed cocoa powder
1/3 plus 1 tablespoon granulated sugar
1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
1/4 teaspoon salt

Set aside.

In a small bowl, combine, whisking briefly

1/4 plus 2 tablespoons water
1/4 cup vegetable oil
1 teaspoon vanilla
3 egg yolks (optional)

In the large, squeaky clean bowl of an electric mixer, place 1/2 cup egg whites (about 3-4 whites).  Starting on low speed and using the whisk beater, beat the egg whites, gradually increasing speed to medium.  When the whites are frothy, like a hot tub, add 1/4 teaspoon cream of tartar (a stabilizer).  Keep increasing speed to high.  When the whites are fluffy, like snow almost, gradually start adding 1/3 cup of granulated sugar.  Stop beating when the whites are satiny and form nearly stiff peaks.  Be careful not to over beat.

Mix the oil mixture with the flour mixture until well-blended and smooth.  Without egg yolks, it will be thick.  In 6 or 7 additions and by hand, gently fold the mixture into the whites.  Be gentle because you want to keep the volume created by whipping the egg whites.  You’ll notice the mixture will start looking less streaky and more chocolate-y after the third or fourth addition.  Spoon the mixture into the muffin cups, filling them about 3/4 of the way full.  Bake for 25-30 minutes, or until firm to the touch (took me 25 minutes).  Let cool in the pan for 5 minutes, then cool completely on a cooling rack.  Dust with powdered sugar or ice with your favorite icing, or eat with ice cream and sprinkles.

Written by poperatzii

July 11, 2010 at 1:20 pm

Posted in Dessert

Leave a Reply

