From Scratch, With Love

Another Genius Oatmeal Post

with one comment

I know, I know, not everyone’s as excited about oatmeal as I am.  But let me tell you a story.  This story is about ice cream.

I love ice cream.  A wonderful thing about ice cream is the ability to make it taste like anything.  Haven’t you had cake batter ice cream?  Cheesecake ice cream?  Brownie ice cream?  And um… prosciutto ice cream?  Anyway, last week I went to Cold Stone and had cake batter ice cream for the first time.  It was delicious.  John had their cinnamon roll combination which consists of cake batter ice cream, cinnamon, cake bits, and nuts.  And it really tastes like a cinnamon roll.  Amazing!

Where is this going?  Well I feel that oatmeal also has the ability, like ice cream, to taste like something different.  You know this already if you get that instant oatmeal stuff that is flavored.  Now, I’m not advocating anything too crazy, but if you can add oatmeal to cookies, why can’t you make oatmeal taste like cookies?  Thus, chocolate chip cookie oatmeal was born.

It came to me on a run.  I googled it to no avail – any search I made ended up leading me to oatmeal chocolate chip cookies.  So, I thought to myself: what are the main components of a good chocolate chip cookie flavor?  Vanilla, brown sugar, butter, salt, and chocolate chips.  So, I did that.  It was awesome.  It really did have a nice cookie flavor to it, but without taking away from the fact that it was oatmeal.  I highly recommend it.  I also suspect Oatmeal Cookie Oatmeal would be similarly delightful.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Oatmeal

Make a serving of oatmeal by boiling 1 cup of water and adding 1/2 cup of old-fashioned rolled oats according to the directions on the box.  Pour into a bowl and stir in about 1/8 teaspoon of vanilla extract.  Let cool slightly until at a comfortable eating temperature.  Add 1/4 tablespoon of butter, 1 tablepoon of brown sugar, a pinch of salt, and about a tablespoon of dark chocolate chips.  Fold in the add-ins gently until well distributed and enjoy with a class of milk or a cappuccino.

Written by poperatzii

July 6, 2010 at 1:54 pm

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] So you know how I’m into oatmeal?  Really, you don’t?  How about now?  Or now?  Or now?  Ok, so I’m into oatmeal.  I eat it almost every day, at least […]


Leave a Reply

