From Scratch, With Love

Oatmeal for Dessert

with one comment

I currently love oatmeal.  I go through phases of like and dislike.  Right now I love it for dessert because it satisfies the comforting, warm, gooey craving that I have after dinner and is low in calories.  And you can put sweet stuff in it!  I have two oatmeal combinations I’ve been using lately: oatmeal with cinnamon, nutmeg, and dried cranberries, and oatmeal with chocolate chips and strawberries.  The latter is what I would like to share today.

The combination seems obvious, but chocolate in oatmeal didn’t occur to me until I was reading about good pre-run meals on RunnersWorld.com.  It recommends eating a half bowl of oatmeal with strawberries and chocolate chips because it gives you antioxidents from the chocolate, vitamin C from the strawberries, and fiber and carbs from the oatmeal.  Plus it’s small enough that you won’t be tasting it throughout your run (a big concern of mine).  So I tried it.  It was great.  Then I sort of made it part of my breakfast rotation in bigger servings.  Unfortunately oatmeal rarely keeps me full past 10am so I don’t eat it for breakfast all that often.  But I eat it for dessert!

Let’s be honest, we don’t really need a recipe for this, but I’ll post one anyway.  What’s your favorite combination?

Chocolate Chip Strawberry Oatmeal

Bring 1 cup of water to a boil.  Add 1/2 cup old-fashioned or quick-cooking oatmeal and simmer, covered on low heat for the amount of time recommended on the box.  Pour into a bowl and allow to cool for about 5 minutes.  Meanwhile, slice 3 fresh strawberries into bite-sized pieces.  Add 2 tablespoons of dark chocolate chips to the oatmeal and top with the strawberries.  Cool and eat. (I recommend cutting this recipe in half for a pre-run meal or you’ll be too full.)

Written by poperatzii

June 23, 2010 at 8:43 pm

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] a Comment So you know how I’m into oatmeal?  Really, you don’t?  How about now?  Or now?  Or now?  Ok, so I’m into oatmeal.  I eat it almost every day, at least […]


Leave a Reply

