From Scratch, With Love

Summer Reading

leave a comment »

A couple of years ago I was in Strand Bookstore in New York and I discovered food literature.  As a food blog reader, I’m sure you’ve discovered it too.  I was a very amateur cook, only 20 years old and spending my first summer away from home, in New York, cooking for myself (and John). I was browsing the cookbook section.  I then looked slightly past the cookbook section and saw the food literature section.  What a divine idea.  It combined my love of reading with my love of cooking and eating.  Better yet, I could pretend to eat/ cook things I would never dream of.  See, I’m a very picky eater.  But through food literature I can almost enjoy sushi and bull’s balls.  Almost.

Anyway, my introduction to the genre began with Ruth Reichl’s Garlic and Sapphires.  From then on I was hooked.  Below is a list of books that I thoroughly enjoyed and recommend for reading this summer.  Be forewarned: many of the books contain recipes.  The recipes will make you want to put down your book and start cooking and baking.  They’re very inspiring.

Andrea’s Summer Reading List

Tender at the Bone Ruth Reichl – The first Ruth Reichl memoir recounts her childhood and coming of age in Brooklyn and Berkeley.  You share her earliest food memories and the events and people in her life that guided her culinarily and rhetorically.

Comfort me with Apples Ruth Reichl – Ruth starts up where she left off – her beginning as a restaurant critic.

Garlic and Sapphires Ruth Reichl – Ruth’s entertaining adventures as the New York Times restaurant critic and the disguises she had to wear in order to give fair reviews (and the toll it took on her personal life).

Alice Waters and Chez Panisse Thomas McNamee – A biography of Alice Waters and her famous Berkeley restaurant and the Slow Food movement.

Fork It Over Alan Richman – A collection of restaurant reviews and food experiences from around the globe by a GQ restaurant critic.

Julie and Julia Julie Powell – You may have seen the movie.  A young woman decides to cook her way through Julia Childs’s famous cookbook in one year and blogs about it.

The Sharper Your Knife, The Less You Cry Kathleen Flinn – A woman loses her job and decides to follow her dream of attending the famous Le Cordon Bleu school in Paris and changes her life.

Service Included Phoebe Damrosch – A memoir about a woman’s experience as a waitress and then captain at a four star restaurant in New York.

Written by poperatzii

June 22, 2010 at 8:56 pm

Posted in Inspiration

Leave a Reply

