From Scratch, With Love

Fancy a Scone?

leave a comment »

Ever since I tasted my first well-made blueberry scone, I’ve been fascinated with the idea of making them.  But I’ve been scared.  I don’t know why.  Possibly because I’ve never had homemade scones before, even though they’re basically biscuits.  Possibly because they’re so buttery and I’m likely to eat several.  However, this Sunday I decided it was time to make a scone.  And it was awesome.

I have a book called the White Dog Cafe Cookbook, which is a great book from a popular restaurant in Philadelphia which prides itself in its interest in global cuisine, especially cuisine from third world countries.  I’ve never been there, but I’d like to go.  Anyway, they have a recipe for buttermilk scones, which is what I was looking for (as opposed to cream scones) because I like the tang that buttermilk gives baked goods.  The recipe is for “Orange and Black Currant Scones,” but I just used the scone base that they gave and left out the orange and black currant flavorings and added blueberries.  I also had to half the recipe because it was for a crowd and I accidentally didn’t half the sugar, but I don’t think it was a problem, so I’m leaving it that way.   They were amazing.  John and I each ate 3 before we started feeling guilty and I froze the last two.  I hope they’re good defrosted – I’ll let you know.  I’m planning on making more for the office this coming week for a breakfast we’re having.

Blueberry Scones (adapted from the White Dog Cafe Cookbook)

In a large bowl, sift

2 cups all-purpose flour
3 tablespoons granulated sugar
1 teaspoon baking powder
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon kosher salt (or 1/8 teaspoon regular salt)

With a pastry blender, cut 1/2 cup (1 stick) cold, unsalted butter, diced, into the flour until well-incorporated and the mixture resembles fine granules (it’s okay to have some larger lumps of butter).

In a small bowl, whisk together 1 egg, 1/2 cup plus 1 tablespoon buttermilk, and 1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract.

Make a well in the flour mixture.  Pour the buttermilk mixture into the well, and gently fold the flour over the buttermilk mixture until it is just moist and starts to hold together.  Don’t over mix or it will be dry and tough instead of flaky.  Add 1 cup of fresh, rinsed blueberries (wild, if you can find them.  I can never find them.) and gently fold into the mixture.

On a lightly floured countertop or bread board, gently knead the dough briefly until it holds together, then pat it into a circle about 3/4 to 1 inch thick (or you can simply make “drop” scones and divide the dough into 8 pieces, freehand.  Your call.).  Cut into eighths and lay on a cookie sheet and put it into the fridge for 30 minutes up to overnight.  Meanwhile, preheat the oven to 375.

Bake the chilled scones for about 20 minutes, until lightly browned on top.  Serve warm or at room temperature.  Eat or freeze the day they are made.

I suspect the scones can also be frozen before they are baked, but I have no experience in such matters.

Written by poperatzii

June 16, 2010 at 7:16 am

Posted in Breakfast, Fruit

Leave a Reply

