From Scratch, With Love

Nachos Are Barely Mexican

with 3 comments

…. But I love them anyway.

Legit, nachos are sort of a Tex-Mex thing and any nachos you find in Latin America are bound to be adaptations of the Tex-Mex creation.  Technically they were invented in Mexico (here’s my source) but yeah no.  I was in Guatemala once and ordered nachos at a restaurant and they just brought me chips.  I was really craving nachos so it was sort of a disappointment.  I haven’t tried it in Mexico, but I bet it’s a different experience than you get here.  I, for one, am always disappointed when I order nachos in restaurants and they either put meat or fake cheese on it, or leave off the beans.  The meat they use is always gross to me, and nachos without beans???? Come on!

I made carne asada tonight.  I’m not going to repost the recipe since it’s the same one I used for Fajitas, but once again it was delicious.

I decided as a side dish, nachos would be appropriate.  When some people make nachos, they just pile chips on a plate, drop some shredded cheese on it, drop some salsa on, and zap it in the microwave.  So not my style.  When I make nachos, I usually cover a cookie sheet with aluminum foil, meticulously lay out a layer of chips, and sprinkle cheese, beans, salsa, and green onions on it, and add another layer or two.  Then I bake it.  Then I add tomatoes and lettuce.  Then I eat it and look foolish trying to scrape the last bits of cheese off the aluminum foil with my fingers.  I love cheese.

This time, I decided to be a tiny bit more elegant with my nachos (yes… elegant nachos…).

Andrea’s Classy Nacho Side Dish (Serves 2)

Preheat the oven to 450.

Cut 4 store-bought corn tortillas into sixths.  Brush each sixth lightly with canola oil.  I used about a teaspoon total.  Lay the chips on a baking sheet and bake for 7 minutes, until the edges start to get a little crispy.  Let cool.

Turn the oven down to 375.

Grate 1/2 cup (2 oz) extra sharp cheddar cheese. Mix it with 1/2 cup grated mozzerella cheese (I used pre-shredded mozzerella because it has less moisture and I use it for a variety of things.  I don’t like pre-shredded cheddar.).  Thinly slice 1 green onion and 1 small jalapeño (take the seeds out first).  Divide out 1 cup of canned or pre-made black beans (variation: you can use pinto beans, refried beans, or you can blend the beans in a blender with some water, and perhaps some garlic, and drizzle it over the nachos instead if you want).

Arrange half the chips in two circles, as though you are putting the pieces together to form a tortilla.  Divide half the cheese between the two circles, and half the beans, and half the green onions and jalapeños.  Arrange the remaining chips on top and repeat (so that you have two layers).

Bake in the oven for 10 minutes, of until the cheese is melted.  For even cooking, turn the pan around halfway through.

Meanwhile, chop half a tomato and shred 2 leaves of lettuce (I like red-leafed lettuce).  Set aside to top the nachos with after.

Since carne asada only takes 5 minutes to cook, I cooked it while the nachos were in the oven, but this takes some good time management skills, so you can do it before or after if you want.

After the nachos are done, move them to the serving plates (try not to take any of the aluminum foil with you).  Top them with shredded lettuce and tomato and, if you wish, guacamole and sour cream (again, see my Fajita recipe for how to make guacamole).

John says a beer with lime in it complemented the meal very well.  I don’t like beer though.

Written by poperatzii

June 12, 2010 at 7:37 pm

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Mmmmm, that looks good. I may have to try that.

    Camilo

    June 13, 2010 at 7:22 am

  2. They might be a Tex-Mex thing….but I LOVE them!

    Jessica

    June 14, 2010 at 12:24 am

  3. Ain’t nothin wrong with Tex-Mex!

    poperatzii

    June 14, 2010 at 6:19 am


Leave a Reply

