From Scratch, With Love

Pilotto

leave a comment »

In case you’ve been wondering where I’ve been… I moved.  And during the move I did not cook.  I did however eat… a lot… of junk food.  And then shortly after the move I realized I misplaced my camera.  I’m hoping that at some point during the unpacking process I find it because I can’t really update a blog post without pictures, can I?

However, I do have pictures from one meal I made before the move.  One day, I was all set to make a “Carolina Casserole” recipe from a healthy cookbook I have called Healthy Eating for Two (Or Just You), which I like because it uses real ingredients and real cooking skills.  It has some good stuff.  Anyway, I was going to make this recipe.  However, the recipe calls for cooking the the microwave, which I do not approve of, and mushrooms, which I did not have.  So, I made a few modifications and the dish ended up somewhat different.  The result was sort of a pilaf-y risotto-y rice dish.  It was also delish.  I call it pilaf-y because I sort of used the same method I usually use for pilaf, and it’s risotto-y because it ended up very creamy, much like risotto.  It’s also a great weeknight meal because it’s quick, not too involved, and low in calories (about 400 per serving, in case you were wondering).

Andrea’s Pilaf-Risotto (serves 2)

Preheat the oven to 375.

Thinly slice 1/2 an onion.  In a medium pot, melt 1 tablespoon of butter over medium-high heat. Add the onion and about a teaspoon of dried, or a tablespoon of fresh, minced rosemary.  Stir until the onions have softened and become translucent, but not quite brown.  Add 1/2 cup of white rice and 2/3 cup of diced cooked chicken or turkey.  Cook, stirring, for about a minute, then add 1 1/2 cups of chicken broth or stock.  Add a few grinds of black pepper and 1/2 teaspoon of dried thyme.  Stop stirring, bring to a simmer, add salt (to taste) and 2/3 cup milk.  If your pot is not oven-proof, transfer to a casserole dish, cover, and put in the oven.

After 20 minutes, uncover the pot/ dish and add 1/2 cup of frozen green peas.  Return to the oven for another 10 minutes.  The rice should be tender and most of the liquid should have been absorbed.  DONE.  After you take it out of the oven, you can add sprinkle some grated parmesan cheese on top.  Serve hot.

Written by poperatzii

June 10, 2010 at 7:18 pm

Leave a Reply

