From Scratch, With Love

Gingersnaps Are Always in Season

with 3 comments

My good friend, Priscilla, and I have been talking for a few months about trading baked goods but we never got around to doing it.  Well, last weekend we finally decided to do it and I had the perfect recipe to try – Gingersnaps, from Good to the Grain.

Normally when I make ginger cookies, they’re more gingerbread-like, the kind that you use to make gingerbread men, gingerbread houses, etc.  I’ve never made gingersnaps.  My best friend’s family makes gingersnap-like molasses cookies that look a lot like these cookies but are a lot chewier.  I have fond memories from high school of her bringing bags of those cookies to regattas (we rowed crew) and the entire team devouring them pre- and post-race.  Anyway, when I saw these cookies in the book, I decided they’d be fun to make and send to Priscilla in Chicago.  I may have eaten a few myself.  To test.  (They were deliciously gingery!)

Gingersnaps (From Good to the Grain by Kim Boyce)

Melt 1/2 cup of unsalted butter and set aside to cool.

In a large bowl, combine

½ cup brown sugar
½ cup white sugar
2 tsb freshly grated ginger (about a 3 ½ in long piece)
¼ cup molasses
1 egg
the melted butter

Stir until smooth.

In a small bowl, sift

1 cup whole wheat flour
1 cup all-purpose flour
2 tsp baking soda
½ tsp ground ginger
¼ tsp ground cinnamon
1/8 tsp ground cloves
½ tsp kosher salt (or ¼ tsp table salt)

Add the dry ingredients to the wet ingredients and stir until a dough forms.  Knead with your hands in the bowl until the dough is smooth.  Cover with plastic wrap and chill in the fridge for at least 2 hours, preferably overnight.

Preheat the oven to 350.  Move the oven racks to the top and bottom thirds of the oven.  Prepare two cookie sheets by buttering them of covering them with parchment paper.

Pour ½ cup white sugar into a small bowl.

Scooping about a tablespoon of dough at a time, drop the dough in the sugar to coat, then roll it in a ball between your palms.  Cover it in sugar again and place on the cookie sheet.  Repeat with the rest of the dough, placing the balls of dough about 2 inches from each other on the cookie sheet. My batch made 54 cookies, but the recipe says it makes 3 dozen, so my cookies may have been a little small.

Bake for 10-15 minutes, until the dough just begins to flatten. Eat warm or keep in an airtight container for up to three days.  You can also crumple them to use as a cookie crumb topping for ice cream, or in a cheesecake crust!

Update: Priscilla sent me some Cranberry Biscotti in return (and a recipe), which were just divine with my morning cappuccino.  Needless to say they’re all gone.  I look forward to making them, once I’ve finished moving into my new place, that is.

Written by poperatzii

June 5, 2010 at 7:53 am

Posted in Cookies, Whole Wheat

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Why don’t you ever send me cookies!!!?

    Camilo

    June 5, 2010 at 11:54 pm

  2. They were divine. I like this food-trading scheme. Let’s make it monthly. You could make me biscotti next time so you don’t have to worry about freshness 🙂

    Priscilla

    June 7, 2010 at 1:16 am

  3. Camilo – what would you send back?

    Priscilla – that’s a fantabulous idea. I’ve started putting dried cranberries in my oatmeal by the way, as a result of buying them to make your biscotti. Dlish.

    poperatzii

    June 7, 2010 at 6:08 am


Leave a Reply

