From Scratch, With Love

Chocolate Chip Goodness

with one comment

I ordered Good to the Grain: Baking with Whole-Grain Flours off the Internet last week and it arrived on Wednesday.  I was SO EXCITED to try something out.  Yesterday, I was able to get home early and I tried out her chocolate chip cookie recipe.  It was amazing.  AMAZING.

Those of you who know me know that I take great pride in my chocolate chip cookies, which are soft and gooey and deliciously well-balanced in flavor.  Well, it’s time to admit that someone’s got me beat.  I think I’m going to have to switch recipes.  She uses all whole-wheat flour in her recipe, which sort of scared me, but it definitely works.  In addition, she recommends using really good chocolate, hand chopped, instead of store-bought chocolate chips.  I think my chocolate chip buying days are over (except for putting in oatmeal).

I was a little iffy about posting the recipe, since it comes from a book, but after some Internet research, I found out that it’s okay to post as long as you give credit and don’t copy the recipe word-for-word.  The only change to the recipe I really made was to replace half the butter with shortening, as in my experience this makes the cookies softer (and it’s cheaper!).  Go ahead and try it with all butter if you’d like!  I also made my cookies smaller than she suggests.

I brought these with me to work today and they were gone by lunchtime.  I also posted a picture on Facebook and got many comments.  I think that’s proof enough that they’re the best.

Kim Boyce’s Whole Wheat Chocolate Chip Cookies

Preheat oven to 350.  Place racks on top third and bottom third of oven. Line two baking sheets with parchment.

Roughly chop 8 oz high quality bittersweet chocolate into 1/4 to 1/2 inch pieces.

In a medium bowl, sift

3 cups whole-wheat flour
1 1/2 tsp baking powder
1 tsp baking soda
1 1/2 tsp kosher salt (or 1 tsp regular salt)

In a large bowl, cream together (the recipe says to use a mixer, I just used a wooden spoon):

1/2 cup unsalted butter (the recipe says to use cold butter, sliced into small cubes.  I didn’t see that and used softened butter.  It worked fine.
1/2 cup shortening
1 cup brown sugar
1 cup white sugar

Add 2 large eggs, one at a time, mixing well between additions.  Add 2 teaspoons pure vanilla extract and stir well.

Gradually add the dry ingredients into the butter mixture, mixing until just incorporated.  Add the chocolate chunks and stir until evenly combined.  Here, the author says to dump the mixture onto your counter and sort of knead it briefly so that all the crumbs are incorporated.  I just did this in the bowl with my hands briefly until the dough held together.

Scoop mounds about 3 tablespoons big 3 inches apart on the cookie sheets (I made smaller cookies, about 1 1/2 Tbs).  You should be able to fit 6 cookies per cookie sheet (I did 12).  Bake them for 16-20 minutes, or until the cookies are evenly darkish brown.  Turn the cookie sheets halfway through, and switch shelves.

Eat warm.  Share.

Written by poperatzii

May 28, 2010 at 8:02 pm

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] chocolate chip cookies, however, were a little flat and not quite up to par with Kim Boyce’s whole wheat chocolate chip cookies, though they were lower in calories.  So I thought to myself, using my brain, what can I do to […]


Leave a Reply

