From Scratch, With Love

I Love Breakfast

with one comment

Breakfast is my favorite thing.  So much so that I get up incredibly early on weekdays just do be able to enjoy it.  This morning I had fried eggs, a cappuccino, and (as always) a smoothie.

The smoothie is what I want to talk about today.

I invented this smoothie, in its elementary form, when I was 19.  It consisted of yogurt, ice, strawberries, a banana and orange juice.  It has barely changed, except it has become more delicious.  I use frozen berries now, which eliminate the necessity of ice, and I use a variety of berries instead of just strawberries.  I use plain yogurt because I don’t think vanilla yogurt really adds anything to a smoothie this flavorful except extra sugar.  I make them every morning.  John likes to put vanilla-flavored protein powder in his.

Breakfast Smoothie

(Makes 32 oz)

In a blender:

1 cup plain nonfat or lowfat yogurt (I use nonfat greek yogurt)
1 1/2 cups frozen berries (I use strawberries, raspberries, and blueberries)
1 banana
A drizzle of honey
1 cup orange juice (or enough to almost cover the berries)

At this point I usually let it sit while I prepare the rest of my breakfast, so the berries aren’t quite as frozen, which makes them easier to blend.  Blend and decant.

Variations: When I have some on hand, I have been known to replace the add some fresh pineapple or mango to the mix.  Mango is a great replacement for banana, since it’s similarly fleshy in texture, but it’s not quite as nutritious.  When they’re cheap and I have time, I will sometimes peel a grapefruit and add the peeled sections to the smoothie (you have to peel it or the texture is just awful). You can also substitute other fruit juices for the orange juice (grapefruit juice works well), but I like the citrus.  If you have no juice you can use a little water or milk, but it’s not that tasty.  You need a liquid in there or it will jam your blender.

Written by poperatzii

May 27, 2010 at 6:16 pm

Posted in Andrea Original, Breakfast

Tagged with , ,

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] When bubbles begin to form and pop on the pancakes, flip them and cook for about 1-2 minutes more.  Serve hot with a smoothie. […]


Leave a Reply

