From Scratch, With Love

Let’s Talk About Coffee

with 2 comments

Like most people, I discovered coffee in college.  I mean, I drank it before, but really just those sugary syrupy gateway-drug drinks at Starbucks (notably Frapuccinos and Gingerbread Lattes).  Then, in college, I got really into coffee.  You know how I’m really into food?  It was kind of the same way for coffee.  I remember when I stopped putting sugar in it (sophomore year).

I was kind of cheap (still am).  So, I started brewing my own coffee every day instead of paying dear, sweet, scarce money for someone else to brew inferior coffee.  Now, I lived in a dorm with a roommate.  (Really, a wonderful roommate.)  I had a tiny little four cup Mr. Coffee maker with an automatic switch off, because dorm fire safety rules prohibited anything without one.  My obsession was obvious – for Christmas that year every single gift I got was coffee-related.  I had just started dating John at the time and he got my my first stovetop espresso maker.

He’s always been such a thoughtful gift-giver.

I came home after winter break with a coffee grinder, because I wanted ever better, fresher coffee.

My Mr. Coffee maker served me faithfully for 2 years.  Then my Papa got me a cappuccino maker for Christmas and my coffee-snobbery was taken to all-new heights.  I spent the summer before senior year perfecting my cappuccino-making abilities.  Senior year I would take up an hour and a half before class just to fit in a full breakfast and two cappuccinos.  Heaven.

After I graduated, my obsession with coffee dwindled, possibly because I had already discovered how I like it best and I sort of focused my energy into food.  I still made capuccinos every day, with an option to use my French Press if desired.

I once visited my brother, who was living in Pittsburgh at the time, and discovered he had no way of making coffee.  I bought a plastic drip coffee cone and brought it back with me – it is also an excellent way to make coffee.

Note the cup below the cone - Camilo (my brother) got me that cup for Christmas this year. So cute!

Finally last summer, after years of resistance, John finally started drinking coffee.  I was pumped.  We started going to Dunkin Donuts every morning before work to get coffee together, switching off who pays.  My cheaper side kind of got angry with me.  So, after some amazon research, I got us a 10 cup drip coffee maker so we could brew coffee at home to bring with us to sip in the mornings.

Yes.  Now I have 5 different ways to make coffee at home.

Jealous?

So I almost never buy coffee, unless it’s to support my favorite local coffee shop, Drip.  Then, I see it as a luxury.  My favorite beans are Whole Foods’ Allegro French Roast, Peet’s French Roast, the Coffee Exchange‘s Santo Domingo Blend, and Burlap and Bean‘s espresso roast.  I buy as fresh as possible and grin it myself.  I keep beans in an airtight container for not more than a week on the counter.

<3 coffee.

The cup's cute isn't it? My Papa got it for me in Spain a couple years back. He has a set of two and I have a set of two so that when we visit each other we can have Father-Daughter coffee. They're hand made.

Written by poperatzii

February 26, 2011 at 2:03 pm

Posted in Breakfast

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I have a Nespresso machine at home and rely on that for my coffee fix over the weekends. At work, there are plenty of local coffee places that make really strong, traditional coffee (with both condensed and evaporated milk- sounds weird, I know, but SO good!). I recently found a pretty good coffee place that does pretty good cappuccinos just a stone’s throw from my office so I think I’ve got all my bases covered.

    But still, five ways to brew coffee at home? I’m both in awe and insanely jealous!

    thecoffeesnob

    March 21, 2011 at 11:15 am

  2. I’m not going to deny that 5 brewing methods is ridiculous – I didn’t do it on purpose! I’m intrigued by the condensed/evaporated milk idea too. I guess I should go to Singapore to see how it’s done.

    Andrea

    March 24, 2011 at 6:26 am


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

